Sheer International

October 8, 2014

alt-J’s global chart dominance

alt-j chart

alt-J celebrate their second album “This Is All Yours” debuting at number one in the official UK

album charts and number four on the US Billboard 200. “We’re over the moon to see our album at

Number 1 in the UK and it’s amazing to be embraced by America in this way,” keyboard player and multi-instrumentalist Gus Unger-Hamilton said. “We never dreamed of having our music high in the charts anywhere. It’s mindblowing. It was never something we thought we’d achieve, but it’s our fans who have put us there so we owe this to them.”

alt-J also steadily held down the no.1 position on SA iTunes

The album contains the singles Every Other Freckle and Hunger Of The Pine, and is available to stream and buy in CD, digital and double-vinyl editions via Infectious Music.

alt-J have just completed a sold out UK tour, culminating in a London show at the 10,000-capacity Alexandra Palace which sold out in ten minutes, and are about to begin a sold out US run. They recently announced their biggest headline shows to date, at London’s O2 Arena on 24 January and New York’s Madison Square Garden on 30 March.

Praise for This Is All Yours

None of it is easy. But all of it is stunning – Album of the Week, Sunday Times Culture

“One of the albums of the year” 5* Evening Standard

This sumptuous riddle of a record is a celebration of everything but normality – 4*, Q magazine

An outlandish delight – 4* The Times

An assured and strange album from a highly intriguing and inventive outfit – 4*, MOJO

A lovely album – inventive, seductive and dazzling” – 4* Daily Telegraph

Behind every batshit idea is a wealth of beauty. Theyve struck gold second time around – 4*, DIY

Complements their ingenious genre infusions with a new swagger – 4* Mail on Sunday

It engulfs you like a deep forest; alt-J mk.II is an impressive expansion – 8/10, NME

alt-J are Joe Newman, Gus Unger-Hamilton and Thom Green. They released their debut album An Awesome Wave to critical acclaim in May 2012 (September 2012 in North America). The album won the Mercury Music Prize in November 2012 and was nominated for British Album of the Year at the Brit Awards in February 2013, one of three nominations the band received. In May that year An Awesome Wave received the Ivor Novello Album Award. It has now sold over one million copies and has been streamed more than 200 million times on Spotify.

September 29, 2014

Röyksopp – The Inevitable End album announcement

RÖYKSOPPRöyksopp will release their fifth and final album ‘The Inevitable End’ on 24th November 2014, through their own Dog Triumph via Wall Of Sound and Cooking Vinyl.

‘The Inevitable End’, is electronic music overlords Röyksopp’s most personal album to date and the second album release in the space of 6 months, following the critically acclaimed mini album and sell out tour ‘Do It Again’ with fellow Scandinavian legend Robyn.

“With ‘The Inevitable End’ we’ve moved into a darker subject matter, with emphasis on the lyrical content. This candid approach feels very both personal, sincere and conclusive.” says Svein, “With this album it became clear we wanted to make an album in a classical sense even if it’s the last one we make,” adds Torbjørn

Having now created five complete bodies of work, the pair feel like the future is open to being more experimental with how they share their music.

“We feel like this is a goodbye to the traditional album format,” explains Svein. “In our consecutive run of albums, we have been able to say what we want to say and do what we want to do with the LP. We’re not going to stop making music, but the album format as such, this is the last thing from us.”

’The Inevitable End’  features Jamie Irrepressible, Ryan James (Man Without Country), Norwegian singer songwriter Susanne Sundfør and Robyn.

Röyksopp have revealed the first track from their album ’Skulls’:

If you wanna ride with us tonight… (This lyric is a hyperlink to this site:

The Inevitable End’ tracklisting:

1) Skulls
2) Monument feat. Robyn (T.I.E. Version)
3) Sordid Affair  (Ryan James, Man Without Country)
4) You Know I Have To Go (Jamie McDermott, The Irrepressibles)
5) Save Me (Susanne Sundfør)
6) I Had This Thing (Jamie McDermott, The Irrepressibles)
7) Rong (Robyn)
8) Here She Comes Again (Jamie McDermott, The Irrepressibles)
9) Running To The Sea (Susanne Sundfør)
10) Compulsion (Jamie McDermott, The Irrepressibles)
11) Coup de Grace
12) Thank You

Single and tour to be announced.

Röyksopp are one of the biggest electronic acts in the world winning 7  Norwegian Grammys (Spellemannprisen) and 5 Norwegian Music Prize Awards (Alarmprisen) as well as nominations for Best International Group at the Brits and Best Remix at the Grammys. They have had 4 number 1 albums in Norway and ‘Do It Again’ debuted at number 14 on the Billboard 200 marking the highest album chart position ever for a Norwegian artist. Röyksopp have headlined some of the biggest festivals in the world and played the Hollywood Bowl three times. They are sought after remixers and have remixed for the likes of Coldplay, Lady Gaga, Kings of Leon and Depeche Mode.